Author Topic: hickory stave rot?  (Read 1146 times)

Offline ShorterJ

hickory stave rot?
« on: December 09, 2020, 04:39:51 pm »
This is my first time posting and first time making a bow.  I got a hickory stave from my uncle which has been seasoning in a shed for about 4 years. I have the bow cut to shape and there are several dark brown streaks just underneath the top layer of sapwood down the length of the bow.  Is this some sort of rot or nothing to worry about?  If it is bad should I cut underneath that layer? I’m worried I don’t have enough wood on the belly to do that.  I tried to attach pictures.  Thanks for any input.

Offline Allyn T

• I'm addicted to information
Re: hickory stave rot?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2020, 08:42:34 pm »
Is this a side view?
In the woods I find my peace

Offline ShorterJ

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2020, 09:16:56 pm »
Yes this is a side view. I still have the cambium on. I’ll post a different angle as well.

Offline Lumberman

« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2020, 09:33:16 am »
Does not look like rot to me, but it is most likely not good. I cut into a lot of hickory, and I have just this week seen dark streaks like that suddenly reveal a large bark pocket just going in a 1/4"  more. That being said I have also seen it clear up going in a little further. I cannot stand how much people like to say "i would never use that" lol so that is certainly not what I am saying. If it is only a slight blemish in that growth ring then the tree most likely adjusted for it and if it is not coming through to the outer layer then it may be  fine. I'd encourage you to tiller her out! But that is what I always think.. especially with hickory

Offline Morgan

« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2020, 09:43:58 am »