Author Topic: Take your time, don't rush lesson learned..... bow in progress  (Read 1666 times)

Offline jamesh76

I had 1 decent oak board in the garage after my first bow made. I wanted a 62" bow. Measured, laid it out. Glued on handle to find out I was on the wrong line..... I probably could have shortened 1 limb and leave it a inch longer than the other. However with only 1 bow under my belt, I decided to even it out a and use 58" of board length.  That is awful short for a 27" draw. Going with 40# and will see if I can get it done. I really need a little more work space. I had one edge of each limb a tad thicker than the other. It showed a little limb twist when braced. I'm not very good at sharpening cabinet scrapers but I got it to shave a little and believe I have the limbs evened out. Currently at 14" and 40#. Gonna take it slow with the tillering. Not sure I will be able to get it to 27". Cpuld go.down in weight but it would probably have alot of set.  I also have that junked piece of osage on my caul. Trying to straighten out 1 limb to get string tracking better on the handle. Loving this!
« Last Edit: April 27, 2020, 07:06:06 pm by jamesh76 »

Offline jamesh76

Re: Take your time, don't rush lesson learned
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2020, 08:44:06 pm »
Left side needs work midlimb out, right needs some as well towards tip I believe.   Gizmo marked them spots as well as just off fades.  The fade area is hard to for me to get with scraper. May get the rasp out near the fades.

bownarra

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2020, 01:44:20 am »
Yes it is a fun craft to learn. :)
You could've left one limb a bit shorter after your misglued handle. The shorter limb would be the lower limb. I prefer my bows made like this.