Author Topic: Maple bow  (Read 2069 times)

Black Moshannon

Maple bow
« on: April 20, 2020, 06:35:12 pm »
About two years ago I made a D bow from a rock maple board. It was 70 inches long and was supposed to draw fifty pounds. It was a poor performer, having about 2.5 to 3 inches of string follow, and I'm pretty sure draw weight fell under fifty pounds. I was for pitching it, but it was the bow that me and my wife shot on one of our first dates, so she wanted me to keep it. So a couple weeks ago, I decided to revamp it. I cut it down to 67.5 inches. I tapered the tips to 1/2 inch. The bow is 11/4 inch wide at its widest point. I reverse braced it and heat treated it for an hour over an old charcoal grill. This is only the second bow I have heat treated so I'm no expert. But going off the info from TBB vol 4, I held it about a foot from the coals, got it to a medium brown color (some blackened spots too) and let it re-hydrate for about a week, which seemed reasonable. Now upon re-tillering, most of the dark toast got scraped off, as I did not want to make in any narrower. The bow at this point had about an inch of reflex. I had to take what seemed like a lot off to get it back to fifty pounds at 27 inches. I then sanded it and applied tung oil, and made a linen string for it.

The bow now draws just over fifty pounds at 27 inches, has 3/8 inch of string follow, which goes to about 3/4 after some shooting time. It's smooth and fast and I love shooting it. The maple is also beautiful. And it did win me a wonderful woman, at least I'm pretty sure that bow was the reason she fell for me.

Offline Hamish

Re: Maple bow
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2020, 06:41:18 pm »
Nice bow, great story. Worked out well for you, good choice all around.

Black Moshannon

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2020, 09:54:16 pm »
Here's a better photo to show the lower limb at full draw.

Offline willie

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2020, 11:16:54 pm »