Author Topic: antler overlay.. bow knocks  (Read 5891 times)

Offline hawkbow

• High Country Archer
antler overlay.. bow knocks
« on: March 21, 2008, 08:27:54 pm »
Hello Brothers, I am building my first selfbow, out of a stave... it is a 58 inch osage D- bow... I have her built and tillered but want to add antler tips to the knocks before I finish her out.. any help from you guys that have done this would be greatly appreciated...what glue .. length of antler.. etc.. thanks Hawk a/ho
IT IS BETTER TO LOSE WITH HONOR. THAN TO WIN THROUGH DECEPTION...

Mike "Hawk" Huston

Offline John K

Re: antler overlay.. bow knocks
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2008, 08:35:13 pm »
Mike, Have you checked the how to section ? There is a post about overlays that is good. Thats all the info i have for you since i have never done it before  :(

Good luck ! I'm sure someone will be along soon to help ya
The only way to fail is to never start !

Offline DanaM

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2008, 08:45:20 pm »
Mike I've used 2 ton epoxy, gel superglue, and titebond 3 on antler overlays all have worked just fine, osage is greasy so make sure to
degrease it thoroughly, same with the antler. Modern method is acetone, primitive would be wood ash lye. Hide glue will work but its not very water resistant.
If ya use epoxy or gel super glue I usually leave the surface a little rough.  Remember to post pictures eh.  ;D
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline hawkbow

• High Country Archer
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2008, 09:06:08 pm »
Butcher, thanks for the info i will check it out..  ;D