Author Topic: Obscure wood questions and introduction  (Read 1466 times)

Offline DuckTapeandNeosporin

Obscure wood questions and introduction
« on: February 03, 2017, 01:58:46 am »
I have been researching bow making for about 4 months and i have built two with this forum as my primary resource. One is ugly and one took set because im impatient. This afternoon i decided to create an account to join the conversation and hopefully find a way to contribute to the knowledge found here. My questions are n the subject of Chinese Privet. All the information i have found from a few hours of googling and creeping forums is that the Chinese used it, its compared to Black Locust/Osage (doesn't sound quite right) and a few people saying "I heard it is a great bow wood". The wood grows comparatively straight, bends like nothing i have seen, grows in huge numbers where i live and is what my parents called a "switch tree" for good reason. Any information on its strength, compression and most effective design would be appreciated. Actually, any information would be appreciated.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Obscure wood questions and introduction
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2017, 09:15:44 am »
Privet is a tough wood and from what I understand makes good bows and arrows(I've made an arrow or 2 from it). I do know it will check easily if the bark is removed too soon after cutting. Probably the best way to prep it would be to get the stave to floor tiller stage with the bark still in tact and the ends sealed.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Springbuck

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2017, 10:24:27 am »
I know nothing about privet, specifically, but as you probably know, various woods can be made in to bows for various reasons and it is up to us to learn how to handle them.  Some may be more flexible, some stiffer but still elastic, some very elastic but not very hard, etc.