Author Topic: Locust board advice?  (Read 5737 times)

Offline bubby

Re: Locust board advice?
« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2016, 08:50:38 am »
Yup
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2016, 08:53:48 am »
I'd be afraid of that board being kiln dried myself.
BowEd
You got to stand for something or you'll fall for anything.
Ed

Offline Academonicon

« Reply #17 on: February 16, 2016, 09:32:56 am »
Thanks for the advice, everybody.  Didn't expect to stir up controversy!  I'd like to do some kind of laminate backing as some people have suggested, but I've never done that before.  Anyone have links to build-alongs or guides to doing a maple backing or something along those lines?

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #18 on: February 16, 2016, 10:12:14 am »
No controversy. Some people just read what they want to read and not what is typed. Very typical on forums.

Search Google for "Perry reflex". I bet you find a million pictures and instructions.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Academonicon

« Reply #19 on: February 16, 2016, 01:57:17 pm »
Oh, also for a first-time wood backer: Where does one come by wood backing strips (if, like me, you don't have equipment to make them yourself)?  I know hickory and bamboo strips can be bought on line, but I don't know about other materials.

Offline wizardgoat

« Reply #20 on: February 16, 2016, 02:22:33 pm »
I scored about 25 usable staves of BL off a lady on Craigslist who was downing some trees.
Some staves had 1/4" thick late wood rings and made awesome bows, while some staves
from the same tree felt like mush at floor tiller. 
I designed a couple much like I would an Osage bow and I haven't seen a fret yet.