Author Topic: poor flight  (Read 3393 times)

Offline jayman448

poor flight
« on: June 18, 2015, 03:03:28 pm »
Im new to all this so i hope yall can help. Ive made a few arriws before that have flown well. Yesterday i completed a rose arrow with a knapped head and goose feathers. It flys terrible tho. I kind of glides and drifts about. Can this be fixed with beigger / longer fletchings? What causes this?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: poor flight
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2015, 03:13:19 pm »
Post a pic.  How long is the fletching? Do you have the stiff side of the shaft against the bow?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline aaron

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2015, 06:36:30 pm »
assuming a good release, good arrow flight is a combination of stiffness, length, point weight. Feathers can correct bad flight, but it's better to get it flying straight by adjusting one (or more) of the 3 factors above. If your stone point is lighter than your normal points that may be causing the issue. Can you tell if the arrow is flying with the feathers to the right or left? Did you use feathers from the same wing? Are you right handed?
Ilwaco, Washington, USA
"Good wood makes great bows, but bad wood makes great bowyers"

Offline jayman448

« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2015, 08:27:27 pm »
Two are actually from the tail. One is from the wing. The arrow shaft is 32" long. I hardend it but think i did a poor job. The fletchings are only 3.5" long. I do believe its balance is slightly too far back. The arrow tends to ether spiral to the target or go straight for a short while, kick the feathers left, then dive and glide low left till it straightens out about at the fifteen yard mark

Offline aaron

« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2015, 08:31:49 pm »
If it spirals to the target, its probably the feathers..all 3 should match. More tip weight probably wouldnt hurt
Ilwaco, Washington, USA