Author Topic: Ash board longbow  (Read 4051 times)

Offline Mazku

Ash board longbow
« on: January 18, 2008, 11:36:25 am »
My first try at a longbow, i've made a few flatbows before. This is a bow that was meant to be my target bow, I messed a bit with the tillering in the beginning so it came out at 20#@24". Since it's too light for i'm giving it to my little brother. In the pictures I'm pulling the bow. The bow is 62" long and a little over an inch wide at the grip.

Offline Dakotian

Re: Ash board longbow
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2008, 12:58:45 pm »
Well done, fine tiller and craftmanship. Some of my first bows were made of ash(green ash), it was an easy wood to work with though I stopped using it when I began making them too heavy for them to turn out well with the wood, it just wasn't as sturdy as I would prefer. Does it shoot well for it's weight?

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2008, 01:29:14 pm »
Neat bow! Looks like a smooth shooter. We'll look at it again for Jan Self Bow of the Month consideration.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline DanaM

« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2008, 01:32:00 pm »
Your little bro looks pleased, good job.
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline Mazku

« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2008, 01:48:29 pm »
I'm the one pulling the bow in the pics  ;D

But this happened at the archery practise today:

Can I pull that bow?

Sure but you can only draw it 24"!!

Boooooom!!!

Last time I EVER let anyone else pull my bows.

Offline Jesse

« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2008, 02:22:09 pm »
Nice bow. To bad it broke. Dont let anyone pull it back without an arrow cut to length. Then they cant overdraw. 
Well now you get to make another. ;D
"If you can find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn't lead anywhere."
    --Frank A. Clark