Author Topic: What to do with these knots?  (Read 2305 times)

Offline ajbruggink

• Aaron Bruggink, Oostburg, WI, USA
What to do with these knots?
« on: June 26, 2014, 09:40:12 pm »
Hey guys,

I'm a complete newbie here and I'm building a bow for a friend out of a stave. My other bowbuilding adventures so far were with board stock so I never encountered this problem. This piece of yew had some knots in it, in particular a piece that looked like cut off branch sticking out of one end. I tried to work around it but I didn't take into account that the knot/branch thing would continue throughout the thickness of the stave. That's problem number one and I wanted to know if anything could be done about it. The next one is a knot on the other side that has just been causing a mess out of the wood and it seems like whatever I've been doing I've just been making it worse. Luckily I'm almost to desired thickness on that part, I don't know if that helps. I wanted to ask you guys because I'm new to this and I think this might be faster than trying to glean the answer in my collection of bowbuilding books, because I've been trying that and I haven't found it yet. Any replies are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Aaron

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: What to do with these knots?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2014, 11:54:52 pm »
...wear a lot of protective gear.  ;)
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2014, 05:16:17 am »
O that is ugly,where in the bow is it located ?  :)
Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline ajbruggink

« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2014, 12:37:11 pm »