Author Topic: advice building a achumawi bow  (Read 1908 times)

Offline DaveMac

advice building a achumawi bow
« on: May 17, 2014, 07:37:09 pm »
Hello I hope someone can help me. I'm a novice bowyer with only limited experience building board bows. I had a 4ft long off cut from an ash board that I decided to use to practice ring chasing. Anyway once I had chased the growth ring I was presented by a twisted piece of wood (approx 35 - 40 degree), but I hate to see wood go to waste so I thought I would see if I could make something from it. The achumawi bow from TBB vol1 (p176) seemed possible if I could straighten the wood.

So I roughed out the shape (40" ttt) and started to heat treat the wood using a heat gun and olive oil. Removing the twist seems to have been successful

however there is still some deflex bend in the stave, although it has improved it is certainly not straight.

So now I am unsure how to proceed.

Should I try to heat treat the bend out now into reflex, or try to long string tiller the bow and then add reflex when I sinew back it?

Also the depiction in the bowyers bible seems to show a rounded belly, at what point should I do this before or after tiller?

Offline Badger

Re: advice building a achumawi bow
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2014, 07:49:04 pm »
  Dave, on an ash bow I would not make the belly too rounded, maybe just round 1/2" or so on the sides, do this durring the tillering process or your tiller will change. Keep your bow in a semi finished state throughtout tillering.

mikekeswick

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2014, 03:30:38 am »
Make a form to clamp the stave to whilst heating and bending.
You round the belly during tillering.

Offline DaveMac

« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2014, 06:29:22 am »