Author Topic: Arrow Shifts from Peach and Apple Tree shoots  (Read 2671 times)

Offline Forest_Farmer

• The best things in life are not things,,,,,,!
Arrow Shifts from Peach and Apple Tree shoots
« on: January 19, 2014, 12:42:14 pm »
I'm helping a friend prune his peach orchard and we trim out many very straight and dense shoots ranging from 1/2" to 3/4" at the base and tapering to about 1/4" over 4ft.   These shoots look like they would make great hard and heavy arrows. no pithy core, fine grained and dense. I have access to a LOT of them, and though they would be an good alternative to river cane if you don't have any near by, or if you want a heavier arrow. 

Anyone have any knowledge on using peach wood for shafts?  Let me know if you think it's worth the time to collect them, and if you have any tips on drying and processing them. 

This is my first post to the PA site and as you can tell I'm still a newbie to primitive archery.  I got hooked on it last spring when bought a copy of PA while in Cabelas and read an article on the Tennessee classic. So I called Pappy and went to the classic and made my first bow with Matt Wirwicki as my teacher.  Now I can't go into the woods without looking for materials. 

My friends who shoot wheelie bows think I've lost my marbles, but I think If I find marbles big enough I'll learn from the fine folks on this forum how to make points from them.  lol
Ed, aka Forest Farmer
When I stop learning please put me in a box!

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
Re: Arrow Shifts from Peach and Apple Tree shoots
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2014, 01:45:08 pm »
Welcome to the forum!

Those peach shoots should make great arrows.  Try peeling a few now and see if the split when drying.  Leave the bark on the others.  Seal all the ends with something waterproof like melted wax, titebond glue, varnish, or whatever.  Go 1" to 2" up onto the shaft from the ends.