Author Topic: Hackberry score!  (Read 2085 times)

Offline DLH

Hackberry score!
« on: May 23, 2013, 11:30:54 pm »
My good friend wants to build himself a bow. So I told him we could go find a nice straight tree to fell for staves. We ended up going on his grandpas land which I think is great because it will have sentimental value for him. I wanted to find something that didn't have much saw value so we ended up finding a nice straight hackberry. Do you think I led him in the right direction I am very new to this myself? I have been giving him some advice but I will have to ask some questions on here  since my advice will be very limited. Should I try to get him to let those dry for a year or qucik dry one? Well anyways here is the tree we ended up with.

We sealed the ends with shellac and back with shellac and have them quartered hopefully split them more this coming weekend. Ended up with 4 six foot sections. Believe it or not they split a lot easier then the osage up at Dave's Moontree Farm Rendezvous.

Offline Newindian

Re: Hackberry score!
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2013, 11:49:32 pm »
I would quick dry one or two it looks like you have the wood to spare
I like free stuff.

Offline TRACY

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2013, 11:49:57 pm »
Yes, nice score! Looks like a lot of good staves in those logs. Pearl Drum or Blackhawks have some good dimensions and instructions for a hackberry bow toasted and reflexed. Good luck!

Tracy
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2013, 12:23:08 am »
Nice haul.  Did you peal the bark off of them?
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline Joec123able

« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2013, 12:27:53 am »
Some awesome bow wood hackberry is probably my favorite white wood for making bows and if you steam it it bends like rubber no joke
I like osage

Offline Squirrelslayer

« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2013, 06:14:01 am »