Author Topic: looking for staves  (Read 3141 times)

Offline Rufledt

looking for staves
« on: March 10, 2013, 03:27:18 pm »
Now that I have a decent number of board bows under my belt I want to make some bows from staves.  I don't want any premium staves or anything, I'm a grad student so my bank account isn't exactly overflowing, and I wouldn't want to wreck top quality wood.  I'm not too picky as to what kind of wood, just that it can be unbacked and doesn't have too much character.  They don't have to be ready to use, either, since I have a few more boards around to keep me busy while they dry.  I'm located in Boston (hence why I can't cut my own, the park's mounted police wouldn't take kindly to that, and I doubt I could outrun a horse while carrying a tree!)  I'll have to pay cash since I don't have anything to trade, just board bows and I'd like to hang on the those for now.  Every time I go shooting with friends we somehow end up a bow short...

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: looking for staves
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 03:31:15 pm »
"your cash ain't nothin but trash" here on PA. You can not use it here!!!
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Rufledt

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2013, 05:17:12 pm »
Sorry my bad!  feel free to delete this thread

Offline Olanigw (Pekane)

« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2013, 01:37:11 am »
Everyone has something to trade.
Think outside the box.

Do you have any old circular saw blades, bandsaw blades, car coil or leaf springs?
String serving?
fresh turkey wing bones?
beef bones?
good leather belt?
canvas tarp?
local knappable rock?
"famous _____" from your region?
woodworking tools?
artwork?
fresh cane?
bamboo from Lowes you took the time to sort and straighten?