Author Topic: Trying Cane Arrows  (Read 2459 times)

Offline Lee Vivian

Trying Cane Arrows
« on: March 09, 2013, 11:48:41 am »
A good friend, Matt Gundock who posts on PA, has recently started working with bamboo/cane for arrows...and to my surprise he sent me one of his finished arrows to try out....while I am no expert...I think he got it figured out!

According to Matt, it is River Cane, weights 600+ grains, and he used sinew to wrap at the fletch and nock....

Once again, thanks Matt...it will get shot a little, then get a Zwickey glued on, and put away till hunting season when it will be the first arrow out of my quiver!

I am so starting to like cane and bamboo...my longbow made by Charlie Jefferson is bamboo backed osage....that my wife just picked up a Bamboo "starter kit" for me....

Looks like it will be a while before I get to harvest any of my own!

Lee

Offline stringstretcher

• Traditionalarcherycommunitysite.com
Re: Trying Cane Arrows
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2013, 12:14:49 pm »
You got a great start the Lee.  Glad for you.  And really nice looking cane arrow there.

Offline Mikeeeeeeeeee

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2013, 02:07:37 pm »
I just made 4 from switch cane. Love them.

Offline Matt G.

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2013, 02:39:01 pm »
Lee I messed up on the description. It's Hill Cane not River cane. A little more mojo for ya is the cane cane from our own Pat B.  still got a lot to learn on the cane.  ;D
Keeping the Faith!
Matt

Offline Lee Vivian

« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2013, 09:29:28 am »
Thanks, Matt.  That makes it even more special knowing where it came from!

Offline Lee Vivian

« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2013, 04:57:20 pm »
Well, shot the arrow from my longbow..and it flew well.....I think it complements the longbow quite well!

Offline aero86

« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2013, 06:18:21 pm »