Author Topic: privet question  (Read 1236 times)

Offline bubby

privet question
« on: February 13, 2013, 05:25:51 pm »
I cut some privet the other day and was wondering if I should leave it whole or split it or reduce it close to floor tiller and clamp it to a caul, no experience with this wood so any advice would help, it's about 2" on one end 3" the other and about 6'2" long, not shure if it will check bad if I reduce it, thank's, Bub
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline okie64

Re: privet question
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2013, 05:46:23 pm »
Ive cut a little but of privet bubby but my experience with it is limited, in other words Im not a privet expert by any means. The pieces that I cut and took the bark off split overnight all the way to the center. The other ones I cut and split them in half after kerfing with a skilsaw and removed the bark and sealed the back with shellac and they turned out fine. Its probably worth mentioning that the pieces that I had that split were cut and peeled in the middle of summertime when it was pretty warm. I still got a little bendy handle bow out of it. Its pretty nice wood to work with just not real pretty stuff, not much grain to it.

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2013, 05:55:44 pm »
thank's okie, how long did you let it sit before working it, my neighbor has privet and with all the birds I now have some, if I gotta cut and it will make a bow, well you know >:D

Offline okie64

« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2013, 07:26:11 pm »