Author Topic: Working with what's local  (Read 1255 times)

Offline htschek

Working with what's local
« on: February 08, 2013, 09:42:59 pm »
Hi All,
I am new here, been lurking for some time and now getting ready to build my first bow. I have some experience in archery as well as woodwork. My wood working includes some boat work, so forms/jigs/patterns and laminations are nothing new to me.

I want to use materials available to me locally and one thing that I can't get is much hickory. I have some on my land and will lay some away to dry when the snow goes, but for now I have access to oaks, maple galore, birch of a couple kinds, cherry, walnut and a number of exotics brought in to a couple of better lumber places here. The birch, cherry and walnut I will leave for risers and accents at this point. A couple of weeks ago I started just keeping my eye out in the Lowes and the lumber places for good-grained pieces. I also noticed that some here have backed bows with hard maple, which I like because I have access to it and have worked with it before.

So my collection right now includes some "bad" maple veneers from a local cabinet shop that I got for cheap because they had straight grain rather than lots of figure. I also have a very straight, dense red oak board that I stumbled into at Lowes. So I am thinking of doing a tri-lam, two of red oak and back it with maple. I plan to use a reflex/deflex design. I am about a 29-30" draw and would like to hit about 50# with this first bow.

How much reflex/deflex would you recommend? Also, what starting dimensions for the limbs? I am thinking of going about 1.25" wide with 1/8" thick maple, and a 5/16" thick and 3/16" thick pieces of red oak for the belly.

Any tips for working with maple backing?
Thanks,
Henry

Offline lostarrow

Re: Working with what's local
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2013, 11:00:47 pm »