Author Topic: 100# short bow  (Read 5925 times)

Offline andybutrick

100# short bow
« on: December 29, 2012, 05:35:24 pm »
Hello fello bowyers, I have a dream.  I am fairly new to building bows.  I've built mostly board bows from hickory, an have finished tillered hickory backed bamboo.  I am always attempting to achieve a shorter, higher draw weight bow.  I have never tested the weight of my bows, but in comparision, mine tend to be heavier than 50#.  I have a cayuga recurve stave from rudderbows.com.  The weight of this bow at 28" is more than I can pull steadily, meaning, over 70#.  The string is cutting into the bamboo, and I did't get the rind from the bamboo clean enough, but so far this 62" short bow performs well at over 70#.  I'll add tip overlays from deer antler, clean up the rind, and test the weight.  My topic is how to successfully put together a short bow similar to this at over 80#.  I found a great bowyer at sllongbow@yahoo.com named Mike Berenger.  He sent to me pretapered osage belly, pretapered ipe middle, and bamboo backing.  We talked about glass on the back and the belly, but I will be stuck with nothing but side tillering, and I think I need to fine tune the bow with more option than only the sides.  Does anyone have any suggestions?

Offline Marc St Louis

• Administrator
  • Keep it flexible
    • Marc's Bows and Arrows
Re: 100# short bow
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2012, 05:40:58 pm »
I don't see a problem tillering a 3 lam bow with an Osage belly
Home of heat-treating, Corbeil, On.  Canada

Marc@Ironwoodbowyer.com

Offline andybutrick

« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2012, 05:46:51 pm »
My mistake, Mike Ballenger at sllongbow.yahoo.com.

Offline andybutrick

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2012, 05:55:06 pm »