Author Topic: 40" ash stave is it possible??  (Read 2244 times)

Offline danny f

40" ash stave is it possible??
« on: December 02, 2012, 12:40:34 pm »
hi. i had a piece of an ash board left over.  i posted the piece of wood on another thread,  it ended up being only 40" inches long due to a swerve with the grain running out at one end so i cut that bit off and  i have chased it down to 1 ring. i was wondering what you all thought would be possible with this size of stave. it is 2" wide.  i am not after anything to powerful but would like to get a bow out of it. i may even make it for my 3 yr olds boys  first bow.  i was thinking maybe a pyramid style with 4"handle and 1.5" fades and straight tapering to half inch. but i am no expert so any help would be appreciated thanks danny.

Offline tattoo dave

• Rockford, MI
Re: 40" ash stave is it possible??
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2012, 04:19:13 pm »
I think that board would be perfect for your boy. He's only 3, It's not like he's gonna have a 25" draw, and pullin 50# ;) Keep us posted, lookin forward to seeing it finished. I love kids bows.

Tattoo Dave
Rockford, MI

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2012, 04:47:57 pm »
I think you'll be fine making a kids bow with it.  Just so we're clear, in the pic you have not gotten it down to one ring?
Bendy handle.
Liberty, In God We Trust, E Pluribus Unum.  Distinctly American Values.

Offline danny f

« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2012, 05:52:14 pm »
cheers, yes the pic was taken before i took it down to one ring. does the pyramid design sound reasonable or would a different design suit this small stave better. and with it being a bend through the handle does it not need a riser block gluing on? thanks danny.

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2012, 06:08:01 pm »