Author Topic: Knocking off a hump (Pic Heavy)  (Read 2047 times)

Offline gstoneberg

Knocking off a hump (Pic Heavy)
« on: October 27, 2012, 01:29:55 pm »
Since we have a few new knappers, I thought I'd diagram a small turtleback I took care of on the big point I finished last night.  All of you know I'm not an expert, but since I was a newbie not that long ago I thought I might be able to take some pictures that'll help the new knappers understand how platforms are the key to thinning.  Goodness knows I'm still learning this, but it worked out nicely this time and thought it might be helpful.  I didn't take a picture of the original spall but it was a little smaller than my hand and it had a nasty divot where some water in the stone had blown out when it was heat treated.  I didn't expect to get a point, but when I'd gotten to a preform with the bopper I decided to capture the process in pictures.

There was some concrete on one side and when I hit it the stone began to step fracture on both top and bottom of that side. I abandoned the bopper at that point and went to indirect percussion (since I'm a Patrick student).

I ran a complete pass on all 4 edges getting good thinning at first, but then leaving a nice hump on one side.  The concrete stopped the flakes and I botched some hits on the other edge to get me in trouble.  So, I ran a shallow set of flakes on the opposite side from the hump trying to raise the edge high enough to take long flakes on the other side in an attempt to knock it off.  Since I'm holding the stone with the hump down, the platforms will appear as low spots in the pictures.  The important thing to remember is that the edge needs to be closer to the side you want to remove thickness from than the other side.  When I was done I had 2 ridges I could exploit with corresponding platforms.  One is dead center and the other is to the right.  The point is turned away slightly so you can see the ridges.