Author Topic: Hunter friends, deer legs, and sinew question  (Read 3092 times)

Offline Matt Heppe

• Eternal Knight
Hunter friends, deer legs, and sinew question
« on: October 23, 2012, 09:45:42 pm »
I'm not a hunter, but I have friends who are. I told them I want to make sinew backed bows, and they offered me all the deer legs they got a hold of. Here's the first delivery.

I have no experience in taking sinew from a deer. I definitely need a better knife. Here is what I ended up with:

Each leg provided three lengths of sinew. Can I dry all if it and pound it for sinew baking, or did I take stuff that is not usable? I washed it and pulled some of the slick filmy stuff from the outside. was taking the film off even necessary?

And how many of these segments are needed to put one sinew layer down on a bow?

Thanks for your help!
Eternal Knight: where I write about writing, do book reviews, and display my novice bows.

Offline Oglala Bowyer

Re: Hunter friends, deer legs, and sinew question
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2012, 09:56:30 pm »
Yup, thats the stuff.  Dry it all, pound it and make a killer bow  8)  I sinew back most of my bows.

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2012, 10:31:12 pm »
When it is dry and you pound it, the outer sheath will seperate.  On the rear legs, follow the sinew through the knee joint and you can gain several more inches in length.  Save any scraps for making glue.  And show them how to save the back sinew for you.  Might as well get all that you can.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2012, 08:25:27 am »