Author Topic: fake copperhead skin  (Read 3789 times)

Offline crooketarrow

fake copperhead skin
« on: September 10, 2012, 08:13:46 am »
   I have a question I'm putting on fake copper head skins from 3 rivers for someone. It's my first time with fake skins.
  It's really lightly colored. Looks really unreal. Way to light fake looking for me.
 Out side of maybe light stain dose any one know how to darken them up a little.
DEAD IS DEAD NO MATTER HOW FAST YOUR ARROW GETS THERE
20 YEARS OF DOING 20 YEARS OF LEARNING 20 YEARS OF TEACHING

Offline Josh B

Re: fake copperhead skin
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2012, 10:24:28 am »
Ive been wondering about those as well.  Have you already glued them on? Or do they just look light before you applied them?  Just curious how they would look compared to the real thing I guess.  Josh

Offline autologus

« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2012, 01:53:32 pm »
Mine looked darker after I glued them on and coated them with a coat of TBIII.  They had the texture of the cloth but I put a couple of coats of poly then sanded and repeated that several times until they were nice and glassy smooth.
Proud Hillbilly from Arkansas.

Offline boughnut

« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2012, 02:15:06 pm »
I would tend to think once glued and clear coated they will darken up,  you could wet one and see if it darkens up to give you an idea of how much darker they will get before you take the time to glue up.

Offline bubby

« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2012, 03:24:31 pm »
if you have any that need's trimmed, glue it on some wood and see how it look's after, if you want it darker than what you get on the test dye the back of the bow, Bub
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2012, 04:52:57 pm »
Try staining the back lightly first Roy.