Author Topic: Questions about my Osage selfbow.  (Read 3739 times)

Offline Bearded Mountain Man

• Waxhaw Survival Ware
Questions about my Osage selfbow.
« on: July 30, 2012, 12:01:18 pm »
Good Morning PA forum,
     I am very new to this. This is my first post on the first forum I have ever been a part of. I hope it goes well.
     A few years back I had been given an Osage selfbow. I had found it in an old shed at a farm I was working at in Georgia. I am not too sure if it is considered a flat bow or a long bow as it is both flat and long. The dimensions of this bow are 68 1/4 in. Tip to Tip, 66 1/2 in. nock to nock, 1 5/8in. wide at the fade and 5/8in. wide at the tips. It is about 3/4in. thick at the end of the risers fade and is about 1/2in. thick at the tips. The bottom limb has a few beautifully pronounced knots and the entire bow has been coated with some kind of clear sealant. I haven't figured out how to upload pictures on this post yet, but here is a link to my Facebook page where I posted a few for public viewing. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151001883652426.421333.638942425&type=3&l=2ae4a1f0c2
    Okay, Now with all of the technical stuff out of the way lets get down to my questions. This bow pulls at about 76# at 28in. I am wondering if it is possible to remove some wood from the limbs to make her pull at more of a 50/55# range. I have yet to actually make a self bow that doesn't break on me so I am a bit inexperienced in what I would need to do lighten this bow.
     I suppose my other question is, should I simply leave the bow as is and see about making a trade with someone who may be looking for a bow like this one.
      Any helpful tips and advise are more than welcome. I look forward to getting to know you guys. From reading other posts on the forum it seems like you all have a good thing going here and I am glad to be a part of it.
     Thanks.
        ~Shane