Author Topic: block plane trouble  (Read 3209 times)

Offline Tortoise

block plane trouble
« on: July 25, 2012, 06:11:00 pm »
I use a block plane as my primary shaving tool right now, since I am just starting out, working on a board bow and have no draw knife/spoke shave. one of my osage limbs loves the plane, the wood curls right off beautifully, but on the other limb, the plane will dig right in to the wood without moving an inch, creating a nasty gash.

Why is it doing this? I am left sawing away with a rasp that takes twice as long and more work. The grain seems real straight, except for a tiny little pin sized knot, but it gets stuck even far away from it. It does this in both directions too.
-Peter
Arizona

Offline RBLusthaus

Re: block plane trouble
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2012, 06:44:47 pm »
Are you planing "downhill"?  If not, this could be your problem. 

Russ

Offline johnston

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2012, 08:15:34 pm »
Bet the rasp doesn't leave a gash. Patience,Tortoise. It ain't a race.

Lane

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2012, 10:48:00 pm »
Plane with the grain...in the same direction. Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2012, 12:38:49 am »
Board bows are famous for having "grain reversals".  The tool is trying to follow the grain as the grain of the wood dives into the bow and the fibers just tear out.  A sharper blade and more downward pressure will help, but play it safe, take your time, use the rasp. 
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline Tortoise

« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2012, 12:42:15 am »
Board bows are famous for having "grain reversals".  The tool is trying to follow the grain as the grain of the wood dives into the bow and the fibers just tear out.  A sharper blade and more downward pressure will help, but play it safe, take your time, use the rasp.