Author Topic: Pressure Bow form  (Read 5789 times)

kurogane_84

Pressure Bow form
« on: July 11, 2012, 09:56:47 pm »
Hello all im thinking about making a pressure form, I wanted to steam a hickory stave that was roughed out and place it into the form and apply pressure to shape the wood into the shape of the form, using 2 laminated 2X6 boards, and a 2 inch hose for pressure ive seen ALOT of forms but have no experience building one, any and all advice on this would be welcomed

Im new to bowyering from a whold stave, ive made survival bows just good enough for a couple shots,  nothing more than that, im realy in need of help LOL

Offline iowabow

Re: Pressure Bow form
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2012, 11:36:55 pm »
Well you are at the right place to learn to build a bow. Keeping thing real simple on the first bow is a good idea. Sounds like a board bow is what you want. The form is called a caul and there are many different types. Maybe someone else can ring in here and make some suggestion as how to start.  They are going to need some information first before helping you. So what is your draw Length what # bow do you want. I would suggest you start with a basic style . There are many great bow makers here that can help you make your bow.
(:::.) The ABO path is a new frontier to the past!

kurogane_84

« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2012, 11:41:24 pm »
Well you are at the right place to learn to build a bow. Keeping thing real simple on the first bow is a good idea. Sounds like a board bow is what you want. The form is called a caul and there are many different types. Maybe someone else can ring in here and make some suggestion as how to start.  They are going to need some information first before helping you. So what is your draw Length what # bow do you want. I would suggest you start with a basic style . There are many great bow makers here that can help you make your bow.