Author Topic: Cooking up some rock  (Read 2084 times)

Offline budmenchaca

Cooking up some rock
« on: June 16, 2012, 01:42:53 am »
Hello all,
I currently have a mini-fire pit that's been burning hot all day. I have some burlington chert an some tough grainy flint (not sure of the official name) I just know it does a number on my billets.

It's not very big but it's my first attempt and I'm pretty stoked about it.

It's been going for about 7 hrs now. Here are some pics:

This last one was taken about 20 minutes ago.

When the time comes to assess the damage...I'll post more pics.
~Vegetarian is an Indian word for "Bad Hunter"
BUD M.
Mason, Texas

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
Re: Cooking up some rock
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2012, 08:40:37 am »
Mmm, i can almost smell em from here. Aught to be getting close to done :). One of three things will come out of that: no change, bunch of blown up shards, or slicked up new and improved rocks :D. I'm thinking the latter.
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline Will H

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2012, 10:05:38 am »
How did them rocks turn out?
Proud Member of Twin Oaks Bowhunters
           Clarksville, Tennessee

"Middle Tennessee is the place to be"

Offline budmenchaca

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2012, 11:21:26 am »
I haven't had a minute to pull all of them out but the few that I did take out looked no different.  :(

I heat treated two types: A whitish, chalky burlington chert and a darker, unidentified tough Texas flint. I think the lighter stuff just needed more heat (or time?)...

I could see where the burlington started to change around the edges and in a few random spots but I guess next time I'll have to get that fire burning hotter and longer.