Author Topic: Warbow for a beginner?  (Read 5832 times)

Offline TheDukesArchers

Warbow for a beginner?
« on: June 05, 2012, 11:26:10 am »
Hi fellow archers!

Well, I'm new to the sport of warbow shooting and am currently without a bow of my own, however I have maintained an interest in the 100 years war for a while, especially the battles of Crecy and Agincourt and the part played by the longbow. I'm pretty much on a budget at the moment as I'm still without a summer job :(, but I'm looking for a bow of about 80lbs-100lbs at 32. I personally think this should be a good starting point?

Cheers!

TDA

Offline killir duck

• i like elk
Re: Warbow for a beginner?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2012, 07:20:47 pm »
what weight bow do you shoot now? it usually helps if you can start with a lighter bow and once you have worked into that then move up 5 or 10 pounds hevier keep doing that until you reach your goal
PRIMITIVE ARCHERY what other way can you play with sticks and rocks all day and not look like a little kid

Every time i shoot at a bunny i recall the wise words of Elmer Fudd "I've got you now you waskally wabbit!"

Offline paulsemp

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2012, 08:05:46 pm »
I do not shoot warbows but 80 to 100lbs is a lot of bow and don't know many that can even pull that back

Offline imar

• DWS; Dutch Warbow Society
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2012, 08:49:35 am »
You need the correct technique, then 80- 100 lbs is not a problem.
But without the proper technique you will soon ruin your shoulder.

So you need to find a way to learn how to shoot medieval style, 'in the bow'.
Using your back muscles instead arms/ shoulders.

Best I think is to find someone who can teach you.

Imar
Imar
DWS; Dutch Warbow Society

Offline TheDukesArchers

« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2012, 04:13:09 pm »