Author Topic: Glue strength Question???  (Read 1974 times)

Offline Ifrit617

Glue strength Question???
« on: February 13, 2012, 03:18:44 pm »
Hey everyone,

I am planing to make a "light" warbow that is about 80-85 pounds at 30". I am planning on making it from hickory backed osage.  My question is, is tb3 strong enough to hold the laminations together for a bow this strong or should I go with a epoxy.... Any input would be great! Thanks.

Jon

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Glue strength Question???
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2012, 04:05:09 pm »
Prepare both surfaces well and you will have no problems at all. I have zero "warbow" experience, just plenty of glue experience.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Ifrit617

« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2012, 04:29:02 pm »
Sounds good Pd thanks for the advice.

Jon

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2012, 06:26:44 pm »
Yes, TiteBond 3 is plenty strong enough. IF properly applied. And that is a huge if, actually :P Most titebond glue failures can be explained by incorrect application of the glue, rather than the glue itself.
"Sonuit contento nervus ab arcu."
Ovid, Metamorphoses VI-286

Offline Ifrit617

« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2012, 07:25:43 pm »
Care to elaborate? I have use tb3 and tb2 many times, but never for laminations , and I have two that i plan on doing in the near future... I know that tb3 need two perfectly smooth surfaces and for laminations should be wrapped instead of clamped to get good even pressure along the whole limb... Do I need to know anything else?

Jon

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2012, 09:58:07 pm »