Author Topic: steam bending or dry heat  (Read 10449 times)

Offline chadthompson

steam bending or dry heat
« on: October 12, 2011, 08:34:03 pm »
 I'm thinking of making deflex reflex bow, and would like to know what you guys use for heating in the reflex. I have tried dry heat before, but with no success. Both have shattered at full draw. I have never used steam before and i'm a little nervous about trying it. Also after steaming would you want to dry heat for added strength? or just leave as is? Any help would be appreciated

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: steam bending or dry heat
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2011, 10:12:17 pm »
A lot will depend on the wood you are using and if it is seasoned or still green.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Prarie Bowyer

« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2011, 10:44:56 pm »
I've been all over the Reflex/Deflex thing lately.  If you are working with lumber and making abacked bw then you don't realy need heat UNLESS you want the riser area curved then it helps to prebend that segment.  I've found that the glue will hold that shape in and if you use a hot box, then as I understand the fibers will soften and take the new shape somewhat.

For self bows I don't know.  I've tinkered with dry heat and heat with oil and it was OK.  I'm thinking that If I had a form that I was clamping the bows into I'd use a steam heat.  There is a book "Steam Bending Wood" that shows some ultra simple steam ovens.  Basicaly large PVC pipe capped at one end with a small hole.  Drill a bigenough hold in the cap for the other end to fit a hose from a walpaper steamer OR run a hose from a tea kettle and put that on a camp burner. 

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2011, 07:41:15 am »
What Pat said,need more info??? I doubt the dry heat was why the others blew,
could have been but probably not. :)
   Pappy