Author Topic: Light draw weights and red oak boards  (Read 3821 times)

Offline makenzie71

• I can robin hood an arrow if I hit it just right.
Light draw weights and red oak boards
« on: August 05, 2011, 10:44:09 pm »
I'm wanting to make bows in the 40~50lb draw range but they keep breaking off mid-limb.  All of them.  Same general area.  This makes me thing that it's less the wood quality and more my technique.

I'm generally working with 6' 1X2's.  What's the best way to go about bringing the getting in that weight range?  I'm usually shooting for 28~30" draws.
Goodbye, friends. I never thought I'd die like this. But I always really hoped. ~ Fry

Offline Ifrit617

Re: Light draw weights and red oak boards
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2011, 11:34:26 pm »
I am no expert but do have a fair amount of experience working with oak... I have found that above all grain is key.. Also make sure you round over the back edges on your bows which helps to lessen the cance of failure from runoff. Are you trying to make bend in the handle or stiff handle designs?

Also check out george's site ( in the how to section) and poorfolksbows site since both have a lot of good info...

If your just starting I would leave the board the full 1 1/2 inches for the center 2 or 3 feet then taper to 3/8 inch tips..... You can have a non bending handle or a bendy handle, I have found either works fine... Once you get more experience, you will find that red oak can do a lot... I recently made a red oak elb that pulls forty pounds and was only 1 1/8 inch wide, straight tapering from the handle to 1/2 inch tips.... it is less than 3/4 of an inch wide mid limb...

Hope this helps... Good luck...

Jon

Offline makenzie71

« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2011, 11:41:25 pm »