Author Topic: New to the Forum  (Read 2103 times)

Offline IDTrapper

New to the Forum
« on: April 05, 2017, 08:37:18 pm »
Hello everyone, my name is Greg and I'm from Northern Idaho.  I've been hunting with a compound bow for 10 years, and after purchasing and reading the TBB set, I sold the compound and and have started work on several wooden bows.  Nothing finished, just have 2 yew staves cut down to rough shape, two birch staves cut down, and a handful of vine maple quarters.  They are all currently drying, my hope is to be working with the birch (which will be rawhide backed) within a couple of weeks.  I made several stick bows that I promptly broke.  One question.  My vine maple is pretty twisted, when I split the quarter staves each one has a minimum of a half twist in it.  I watched a couple videos on YouTube and guys were just bandsawing the maple into shape, and without splitting it were basically ignoring the twist in the grain.  Should I ignore it as well? Just "cut" the twist out of the belly, and call it good? Just seems like once you start tillering that twist would show up again.  I hope someone can help!  The birch is straight and really nice looking, so I'm at hopeful!  Thank you and I look forward to talking with everyone! 
Greg

Offline upstatenybowyer

Re: New to the Forum
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2017, 09:06:57 pm »
Never worked with vinemaple, but in my experience there is no ignoring twist. The only way I know to deal with it is to use heat to remove it.

Welcome to the forum!  :)
"Even as the archer loves the arrow that flies, so too he loves the bow that remains constant in his hands."

Nigerian Proverb

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2017, 09:24:02 pm »