Author Topic: bamboo shaft how-to ?????  (Read 3995 times)

Offline Jtilley

• WV country boy missing the hills.............
bamboo shaft how-to ?????
« on: April 22, 2011, 08:36:31 pm »
After looking at all the awesome cane arrows on here , I went to the garden center , and bought a dozen bamboo vegetable stakes. Now I have a thousand questions. Prior to this I have made all my arrows from dowels. If someone could direct me to a link, or give me some insight ( especially on straightening, nocks, and tips ) I would greatly appreciate it. :)
Thanks, John
Some is Good , More is Better, Too much is Just Right....
John

Offline osage outlaw

Re: bamboo shaft how-to ?????
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2011, 09:55:01 pm »
I am no expert at all, I just finished my first bunch of arrows, but I can tell you how I made them.  For the heat source for straightening I used one of those sterno oil burner cans that they put under the trays at catored dinners.  Getting them straight was the hardest part for me.  It took several rounds of bending them before I got them straight.  Then I spined them and cut them to length.  Next, I drilled out the tip ends and glued in a 16 penny duplex nail with the head ground off.  For the nocks, I used a drill press and made a hole about 1/2" from the end.  I used a miniature hacksaw with a very fine blade to cut down to the hole.  Then I used sand paper to finish it out.  I used heavy duty coat thread to wrap the tip and nock ends.  I soaked the tip wraps with epoxy and didn't like how it turned out.  I soaked the nock wraps with superglue which worked great.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline ErictheViking

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2011, 09:55:31 pm »
"He that but looketh on a plate of ham and eggs to lust after it hath already committed breakfast with it in his heart"  C.S. Lewis

Offline Jtilley

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2011, 10:37:24 pm »
Thanks guys, excellent info. I'm excited about the cane arrows.............