Author Topic: Black Walnut Bow Build  (Read 9819 times)

Offline kybow

Black Walnut Bow Build
« on: July 17, 2012, 02:21:50 am »
I am off an running on my 2nd bow from a stave. Its a Black Walnut stave 66" long that I want to make a cherokee style D bow. This is my first time posting so let me know if I need to include any thing.  I have read that I need to chase the ring on this wood so thats my starting point.  More to follow!

Offline tattoo dave

• Rockford, MI
Re: Black Walnut Bow Build
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2012, 11:21:12 pm »
Lookin forward to seeing the finished stick kybow!!!

Tattoo Dave
Rockford, MI

Offline kybow

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2012, 02:06:18 pm »
Thanks Dave, I'm having fun getting through the first ring (I think I'm scared to go to far to quick!).  I really want to have both sapwood and heartwood on this when its done.

blackhawk

« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2012, 10:18:44 am »
Hey chad...I see your takin the harder route and chasing a ring for the sake of having heartwood in the bow. I've never tried chasin walnut before. How is it? And by the way I'm 0 for 2 with walnut  ::)

Offline kybow

« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2012, 11:19:14 am »
Chris, it's a pain so far, it's hard seeing where the rings transition. I hope to work on it tomorrow so I will keep you posted and upload some pics. And thanks for telling me that!
- Chad

Offline Josh B

« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2012, 11:45:55 am »
Chasing rings on walnut sapwood is tough to be sure!  Good light and a wet rag to swipe across it are the key.  Good luck, Josh

Offline kybow

« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2012, 03:34:41 am »
Thanks Josh!

Offline TRACY

« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2012, 09:25:27 am »
Looks good so far KY. Chasing a ring on whitewood is tough but not impossible. Looks like you might get a break about half way through the sapwood. Keep it coming!

Tracy
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline kybow

« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2012, 12:42:07 pm »