Author Topic: Chasing a ring....need a little help and advice.....  (Read 2569 times)

Offline Stingray45

Chasing a ring....need a little help and advice.....
« on: August 27, 2010, 10:37:42 am »
I have a small osage stave I got for pretty cheap. 55" tip to tip, not very much wood, one end is about one inch thick and the other end is about 1.25" thick. I'm having some trouble chasing the ring (this is my first attempt at chasing a ring). I'm finding it hard to tell when I've gotten the whole way through one ring and into the next and I'm afraid I have/will violate the next ring. I was trying to get through one ring and I thought I knew when I had finish one ring because there was like a milky looking layer that was kind of crunch sounding. I started at the ends and was working that way because I wasnt able to scrape away in the middle of the bow and know which ring I was on. Any help would be appreciated! Also if the ring has been violated, would backing with rawhide help? Or will it still eventually become a problem?
Is there anything better than wandering the earth with a stick and string in your hand?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Chasing a ring....need a little help and advice.....
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2010, 10:51:26 am »
What is your draw length and what draw weight are you shooting for?   55" is pretty short for a beginner to work with.  You should work towards a bendy handle bow and George's site has lots of info about this. Check it out!