Author Topic: Example of an Unending Correction  (Read 2706 times)

bowkee

Example of an Unending Correction
« on: July 16, 2010, 04:47:37 pm »
HI Friends, I would like to show ya what a propeller twisted Board Bow looks like after repeated corrections.
The Board itself was 2* 1/3/4 and was straight with no twist.
 started with making a Holmgaard with this Board and got repeated twist as I tillered,I make corections to the opposing side with no results. I studied the Back of the Bow to see if the Grain was twisting up and out the Back, that seemed to be the case.
The sides of the Bow appear to have straight line from tip to tip.
After removing all the wood There was still twist and the weight of the Bow was below 20#  26 so I cut it up as saw dust.
The Following short Bow, still the same Problem but this one is a 2 piece glue up.
The Bow Has twist in opposing direction but the String is centered and it is shooting Straight. I am baffled By this. Glad I'll be getting those Saves soon.
Here is a couple Pics. 30#@20 50"

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: July 17, 2010, 02:14:26 pm by bowkee »

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Example of an Unending Correction
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2010, 12:55:22 am »
Phil, good thing you aren't a goldsmith!  ;D  You have built enough bow to know that wood can be a fickled medium.  Sometimes you get one that just doesn't want to cooperate. These are the bows that go into the "corner of shame" for me! You will be amazed in a year or so what it can become...or not!  ::)
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline gmc

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2010, 01:22:31 am »
I had a Hickory do that to me one time. I worked on that bow off and on over several months. I hated to give up but finally surrendered, it just didn't want to be a bow.  :-\ I guess you run into those every now and then.
Central Kentucky

Offline elk country rp

i feel your pain brother