Author Topic: Board Bows  (Read 4939 times)

Offline finnfoto

• Shoot straight and have fun.
    • www.finandfoto.com
Board Bows
« on: July 11, 2010, 10:43:19 am »
Hey everyone.   

Sam W. here.   Another newbie to the forum.

Have a few question's  and my first one is this.

I've been building board bows for a few years off and on and then got out of it and until recently got back into again. I guess the bug never left.lol

once you've been bitten,

Anyway.   the bows I've been building are either from redoak. or maple.

most times I dont back them with anything as they seem to shoot really well.   However.  once thing I've never really paid attention to is.

will a board bow  hold up over time?

and another question for anyone who builds board bows is.?

Do you build your board bows with risers or not?  Does it really matter.?

Most of my bows i build usually fall in the 68inc nock to nock length.  and run anywhere from 35lbs to 55lbs. 

Thanks.  Sam
Sam Wagaman

Offline KenH

• The Kilted Cook
    • The Kilted Cook Personal Chef
Re: Board Bows
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2010, 11:05:02 am »
No reason a board bow won't last as long as any other bow.

Especially if you bury it in a peat bog or other anaerobic environment for archaeologists to find a few thousand years from now :o

Without a riser, they're most often tillered into a D shape, often called "bend through the handle"
With a riser, they're usually tillered into more of an elliptical shape.

Both work equally well.  Look at some of the board bows that Half Eye has been making, both bend through and riser styles.  Amazing.  Gives us a whole new level to work towards.
You Kill It - I Cook It!
Ken Hulme,
The Kilted Cook Personal Chef Service

Offline finnfoto

• www.finandfoto.com
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2010, 11:10:52 am »
Thanks Ken.  will check his work out for sure.
Sam Wagaman

Offline sailordad

« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2010, 11:20:44 am »
i make alot of board bows too