Author Topic: First Time Chrysals  (Read 1241 times)

Offline aznboi3644

First Time Chrysals
« on: March 16, 2010, 02:56:25 am »
this is not a bow making story but it is based on bow making skills lol

I am a landscaper and have been doing it for the past 7 years.  I love being outside.  And with being a landscaper we go through rakes like normal people should not.  Usually it is the handle that snaps....I've broken about 4 or 5 rakes in the past couple years.  Usually the handle lifts a splinter on the back and breaks from tension stress.

Today before going to the job my dad (boss man) stopped by Rural King to get some trash bags and a new leaf rake.  Well he brought out this 9 dollar good looking rake made by Truper.  Best thing about it (at the time) was a 1.25 inch thick handle and a pretty tough looking head on it.  I was think "Ahh sweet a new rake that wont break easily".  The label even said "10 YEAR WARRANTY".

So this rake MUST be a winner with a strong looking handle and a durable head and tines.  After about an hours total of use I looked at the handle and noticed some funny squigly lines in the middle of the handle.  I looked closer and realized that these must be what CHRYSALS look like!!! 

So I did what any self respecting landscaper/lover of bow making would do...I did a little floor tillering with the rake upside down to see if the handle is bending evenly LOL...Well I put about 5-10 lbs of pressure in the middle of the handle and the rake took a little bend...then I tried it again and SNAP!!!!  A clean break across.  I stood there pondering WTF is this made of and why would the manufacture state even 10 years of warranty?  I was really pissed...super.  I stood there looking down at the pile of yard waste still needing to raked...but only to be thinking of what bow I will make next lol.