Author Topic: Sapling vs. stave?  (Read 4461 times)

72shane

Sapling vs. stave?
« on: February 16, 2010, 08:37:25 pm »
What are the reasons/advantages of a self bow from a split stave compared to a sapling bow? Any disadvantages to mention? Ive never used saplings and was just curious...ive always split out staves for self bows.

Offline aznboi3644

Re: Sapling vs. stave?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2010, 08:43:59 pm »
I've broken a few sapling staves...and also split a few 12-14" logs.

Difference is the size of the crown on the back...the larger logs have a flatter back...but on some woods a crowned back is like natural trapping. 

I'm no expert though...I just enjoy making shavings and for some odd reason I enjoy splitting logs haha...my back my not like it though but its fun to me

Offline Ryan_Gill_HuntPrimitive

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2010, 09:13:25 pm »
I have had good luck with both. the only real difference to me is the available draw weight. sapling bows typically dont have the poundage potential that staves do. the saplings also are a bit more prone to breakage, and i usually make them a little bit longer than my stave bows.  but one thing i really like about saplings is- less roughing out and more character - Ryan
Formerly "twistedlimbs"
Gill's Primitive Archery and HuntPrimitive

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2010, 09:20:07 pm »
Use saplings 2-3 in. in diameter. Leave them an inch or 2 longer than your usual save length to counteract the crown.  Make sure the string falls on the handle area. Mark belly from back with a marker. Remove the belly wood with a hatchet. Wait a few days and remove the bark. In the spring the bark will come off easily. Bring the stave to floor tiller just bending it a few inches and it will dry faster. Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline Simple Hunter

« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2010, 09:36:32 pm »