Author Topic: GETTING THE KNAPPING KNACK  (Read 2385 times)

Offline sailordad

GETTING THE KNAPPING KNACK
« on: October 13, 2009, 12:00:21 am »
well as most of ya'll know i havent been doing this lon and am self taught
well i started with pressure flaking slabs,then moved up to spalling rock and now i am doing some percussion knapping
i have gone thru a fair amount of rock ust trying to learn how to spall,still trying to get better at that.
i have also gone trhu afair share of rock trying to figure out percussion knapping.
i feel that things have been starting to come together for me,not that i am at the level of a lot of you folks.
so i was working on a piece of rock the other day,all percussion.i listen to the rock and let it decide the shape and size that it wants to be.
well i got the shape out of the rock that it wanted,and i was looking it over when the rock talked to me.
yes i said "it talked to me"
it was at thsi time that the rock told me it wanted to be fluted.who am i to argue with a rock.
after all i am just a mere man,and well lets face it.the rock,well the rock is part of mother earth,and we should all listen to our mother.
now i have never made a true flute before.however i did get to wathc a guy back in february.his name was Jim Redfern.
i wacthed him make a giant clovis.as he made it he expalined the process of setting up a nipple for making a flute.
i did as best as i could at trying to remeber what he said and this is the end result of trying

now i was totaly impressed with what i had just accomplished :o
so i flipped it over,did a whole lot of grinding and making my nipple again
then i was ready to make flute #2,well here is the end results of that

well as you can see,i chicked out and didnt give it the smack that i should of
oh well,atleast i know i can make a flute.now i just gotta get ballsy and make two on one point lol