Author Topic: American Bison Horn bow(new pics)  (Read 20120 times)

Offline Ryano

• Ryan O'Sullivan, North Western Pennsylvania
Re: American Bison Horn bow(new pics)
« Reply #30 on: August 11, 2009, 12:10:45 pm »
That's pretty neat Timo. Not really what I expected to see from the tittle "Horn bow".....but cool none the less.
How does it perform? Any hand shock? I've never worked with horn but I've always read you need to have heavily reflexed limbs to make the horn belly store enough energy to overcome the added mass weight from the horn vs. a wood belly. Do you find this to be true?
Its November, I'm gone hunt'in.......
Osage is still better.....

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #31 on: August 11, 2009, 12:31:28 pm »
This is a laminate (sinewed osage w horn belly), right? Some real craftsmanship here. You've got to really proud of it. Bookmarked under Laminates for BOM for August.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline Barrage

« Reply #32 on: August 11, 2009, 04:13:18 pm »
Great bow Timo.
Travis

Offline Timo

« Reply #33 on: August 11, 2009, 08:07:49 pm »
 Thanks again all for the compliments.

Ryano, Tom Resslers artical a couple issues ago, sparked my interests again in these type of bows. Based off the lakota Indians and the bows they made and used to hunt the buffalo off horse back,short, quick pointing, and with plenty enough power to bury stone tipped arrows deep into the rib cage of the buffalo.  Worth many horses. Perty tough to make I figure, with stone tools?