Author Topic: Sold on 'sage  (Read 7565 times)

Papa Matt

Re: Sold on 'sage
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2008, 12:36:27 pm »
RyanO~

Just curious, if osage is the best, what's #2 in your opinion? (I.E. some exotic bug invaded next week and all Osage trees died out.)

~~Papa Matt

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2008, 12:44:14 pm »
;D   That's why I like it so much. The way I tiller I need all the help I can get! ;D
At my age, I need all the tiller I can get ;D - OldBow
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline YewArcher

« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2008, 04:18:58 pm »
 :Dlol.....if all the osage trees dies out Ryano would retire.

Plant some seeds in your back yard Ryan!

Steve

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #18 on: November 24, 2008, 04:25:09 pm »
I really like osage too....but here in the dry country, hickory is looking better and better.  Still, you can't beat the natural color (and beauty) of osage.  Jury is out on this one....
Any critter tastes good with enough butter on it.

Patrick Blank
Midland, Texas
Youtube: JackCrafty, Allergic Hobbit, Patrick Blank

Where's Rock? Public Waterways, Road Cuts, Landscape Supply, Knap-Ins.
How to Cook It?  200° for 24hrs then 275° to 500° for 4hrs (depending on type), Cool for 12hr

Offline sailordad

« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2008, 07:02:50 pm »
i am curently working on my second piece of osage, and gotta say as personal preference,i like this much more than other woods.
doesnt grow anywhere near me so when i get a piece i cherish it and try to get as many bows as possible from a stave,even if this means settling for 2 kids bows versus one adult/hunting weight bow.just love the things you can to do/with this wood.

i think ipe is also just as good,but i prefer to work osage. much less allergic and easier on tools.hickory i find difficult to work with,harder to tiller ect.