Author Topic: r/d trilam---full draw added  (Read 3729 times)

radius

r/d trilam---full draw added
« on: May 26, 2008, 01:03:53 am »
Ok, this bow started out life as a maple r/d with hickory backing.  But it came in underweight.  So i studied wytetale's how-to and added a belly lam of yew onto the thing.  With the zebrano handle, it's kinda busy, but the bow turned out pretty sweet.  On the way, I met my new best friend:  I'll include a picture in this post, and award 10 points to whoever can figure out who it is.  I'll give you a hint:  this bow is rounded:  round belly, round back.

Before attaching the belly lam, i tapered the maple (which had been uniform 3/8 or so) on the belt sander, just by eye.  Then I tapered the yew lam (last 6 inches toward the handle/up the fades) to 1/16 from about 5/32...  Once the epoxy had cured and the yew was shaped to the bow, i found it was way too stiff to move...but I didn't want to flat sand it all and end up with just a 16th or so...so for the first time ever, I created a round belly/round back bow...I love it!

This bow is 63" long, draws 50# at 28", and is a pleasure to shoot...fast and consistent...as usual, i'll give some photos of the bow before the oil goes on, and then some after.  I've also included some shots of the grain in the yew...becuase it is so purty!

my new best friend

unstrung

v

So, there it is.  That's 2 this weekend.  God, I have a lot of bows now!

« Last Edit: May 27, 2008, 12:37:33 pm by radius »

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Re: r/d trilam
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2008, 01:14:52 am »
I'll bet the full draw is going to show off this fine weapon, too :P
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Rich Saffold

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2008, 01:58:57 am »
Lots of bows is a  good thing, and they show you learning at a good pace..As much information as you new guys get nowadays, its still repetition that really makes bowyers..