Author Topic: NEED HELP MAKING A TILLERING BOARD/STICK  (Read 12725 times)

Offline ricochet

• HOWDY FROM TEXAS
NEED HELP MAKING A TILLERING BOARD/STICK
« on: May 16, 2008, 09:26:25 pm »
Howdy,ya ll I'm new to primitive archery and I have many questions about building my first bow. I just started on one, I've only sanding and shaping the limbs,but when it comes to using a tillering board or stick I'm lost on deminitions for one. what i'm trying to is what a good overall length?,how long does the first peg or notch have to from the spot the bow handle sits in ? I have read TRADITIONAL BOWYERS BIBLE, CHEROKEE BOWS AND ARROWS AND BENT STICK. but none them give really any kind of plans or deminitions. please can anyone help me
« Last Edit: May 16, 2008, 09:29:31 pm by ricochet »
God fearing and lovin backwoodsman

Offline recurve shooter

Re: NEED HELP MAKING A TILLERING BOARD/STICK
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2008, 10:33:46 pm »
well, im new to, but as far as i know, ya jist get a 2X6 and nail two nails in real good up top, this is for  your handle to rest on, then nail another nail in every inch or so for about 5 feet down. like i say, im not a pro, but i think thats what ya do. ya better wait for the old guys to chime in though.

by the way, welcome to our adiction. ;D
lets just shoot it

Offline n2everythg

« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2008, 11:32:06 pm »
I built a couple different kinds. one was 2x4 with pegs. this worked but I didnt know what I was doing (still dont) and cut into the 2x4 for the place the bow handle sits. this caused a twist when pulled. Dont do this. keep your string aligned. if you are going to build a peg tillering stick build your bow holder out from the board. not cut recessed into the end of the board. Lesson learned. threw that one away recently.