Author Topic: Dogwood for bows?  (Read 3615 times)

Offline Shawn Rackley

Dogwood for bows?
« on: January 13, 2019, 04:56:26 pm »
I have done a search and found that "straight" flowering dogwood can be a good bow wood. I live in northeast Arkansas and have been blessed with finding a few nice straight trees. I have heard about twisting and checking. I have little to no experience but I have really been interested in learning to make selfbows for a longwhile. I have been looking for good standing bow woods while out roving and hiking. So far I have found honey locusts, American elm, and some really straight dogwood. I do realize the stave would have to dry for some time. But I think it would be good to seize this opportunity and harvest these trees, if viable for a bow.
If flowering dogwood does make a good bow, how should I treat the stave? I'm assuming split it and seal the ends. But do I need to scrape the bark off and seal the back as well? Take it to one ring? I am looking for advice to the folks that have had some good or bad experiences. Also pictures would be great. In the search I did, all the pictures were removed during the great photobucket scurge.  And lastly what types of bow style would be best for this wood? Flatbow, English longbow, etc?  I plan on by time these staves are dried and ready I will have enough practice and experience with Osage and other woods to do them justice.  Thanks for any advice guys.

Offline High-Desert

Re: Dogwood for bows?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2019, 05:23:28 pm »