Author Topic: Questions about harvesting Mulberry  (Read 2474 times)

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
Questions about harvesting Mulberry
« on: November 30, 2016, 10:00:20 am »
I have Zero experience with Mulberry. My cousin knows somebody that wants one either trimmed or removed. My questions are
#1 is Mulberry a white wood? I thought I read something about it being related to Osage so I'm wondering if I harvest during growing season if it will slip bark and cambium or if you remove sapwood and chase ring anyway.
#2 Any tips on what to look for like reading bark or is it basic look for straight with little or no twist in bark.
#3 Any tips on how to handle after harvesting
Any tips would be appreciated if it isn't a white wood I'll probably try to harvest some soon, if it is I may wait till growing season. Of course if he wants it gone I don't want to wait to long
Thanks
Bjrogg
A hot cup of coffee and a beautiful sunrise

Offline JoJoDapyro

• Subscription Number PM109294
Re: Questions about harvesting Mulberry
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2016, 10:48:21 am »
It is like Osage. Read that bark like any other tree. After it is cut you will want to seal then ends just like any other wood.
If you always do what you always did you'll always get what you always got.
27 inch draw, right handed. Bow building and Knapping.

JacksonCash

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2016, 10:51:31 am »
Hopefully you get some good staves from that, I've had my eye on a tree in the neighborhood for some time. The property just sold, so maybe the new owners won't want purple stained everything and will want it gone!

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2016, 11:15:25 am »
Thanks JoJo, if I'm understanding correctly then no advantage to wait till growing season. Have to try to get at it soon.
Yea Jackson, there probably a good possibility your new neighbors won't like that tree. They can be unpopular  for the reasons you stated
Bjrogg

Offline JoJoDapyro