Author Topic: First Penobscot style bow  (Read 3285 times)

Offline RatherBinTheWoods

First Penobscot style bow
« on: October 14, 2016, 09:53:03 am »
So this is my first post on PA.

I am an avid reader and am constantly amazed at the incredible level of craftsmanship displayed on these pages.

I am a sub ten bow novice and it’s taken a while for me to be happy enough with one of my bows to post pics.

This one came about after Del Cat gave me a couple of short Osage left overs to practice with.

I knew immediately what I wanted to use it for so I chased a ring on the back and slightly reflexed the limbs. It was taking about #50 to take it to 12 inches on a loose string.

The main bow is a hickory board oriented so the growth rings run back to belly (quarter sawn). It was a fairly dubious board which did have some lateral grain violation onto the back so I took it to just under #45 at 24” before gaffer taping the back bow on to see what difference it would make.

Even with fairly stretchy paracord strings under very little tension it it was increasing draw by more than #10 so I decided to add a rawhide backing to the main bow to hopefully help it get to full draw without lifting splinters. I’m pleased to say it worked.

I also flattened the cross section a bit more than would perhaps be authentic for this style of bow just because I read that the mid-section take an awful lot of compression from this design and I thought this might help it along - not sure if it made any difference but it doesn't seem to have hurt.

Bows are connected with a thin rawhide strip as the Penobscot would have done originally and this made for a perfectly sturdy join. I added the cloth and additional rawhide (which is a bit more plains style) just because I like it.