Author Topic: A Native American Question,,,,  (Read 4677 times)

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: A Native American Question,,,,
« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2016, 04:08:36 am »
I really think it is something we are taught, don't believe in Karma/joojoo or luck but was taught at an early age to stay away from snakes/spiders and such and they still give me the hebejeeb's when I skin a snake, still do it but when they wiggle I react.  :) Once the head is gone I am pretty good with it. :)
 Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline Marc St Louis

• Administrator
  • Keep it flexible
    • Marc's Bows and Arrows
« Reply #16 on: September 08, 2016, 08:57:25 am »
I'm okay with them but I never kill a Snake.  I also have a few skins, by trade, but rarely use them and never on one of my bows that I will be using. 
Home of heat-treating, Corbeil, On.  Canada

Marc@Ironwoodbowyer.com

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
« Reply #17 on: September 08, 2016, 09:06:50 am »
Goes right back to the dawn of time. There are those of us who blame the curse on Adam, Eve and the serpent in the Garden of Eden story: Genesis 3:15 "And I will put enmity between you [the serpent] and the woman, and between your seed and her seed; He shall bruise you on the head, And you shall bruise him on the heel."…

Offline Parnell

« Reply #18 on: September 08, 2016, 10:57:54 am »
The Seminole guy I know down here is the same, Eddie.  Saw some of my snakeskin stuff and he wouldn't touch it.  He did say to me that there was a conflict with his belief system.  Didn't ask for details, just nodded and shrugged.
1’—>1’

Offline DC

« Reply #19 on: September 08, 2016, 12:35:58 pm »