Author Topic: anyone know much about plumbing?  (Read 2468 times)

Offline sleek

Re: anyone know much about plumbing?
« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2016, 06:38:31 am »
I guess I will just build side by side my current pipe then once complete, get it inspected then disconnected and reconnect.
Tread softly and carry a bent stick.

Dont seek your happiness through the approval of others

Offline DC

« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2016, 11:47:35 am »
And remember, once that glue is on, it's forever. When I was building my house there was an area in the stack that had three fittings going off in all directions. I thought I would save time by assembling them on the floor and then gluing them to the stack. I got one 180 degrees out and ruined $35(in 1977 money) in fittings.

Offline StickMan47

« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2016, 10:46:43 pm »
Sleek, I am a licensed journeyman plumber in Texas. As has already been said plumbing codes differ from state to state and even from city to city within the same state. What you are describing sounds to be a very involved plumbing job and although it could be expensive I would recommend having a licensed plumber do the job. In Texas as a homeowner, you are allowed to do your own repairs, but may still be subject to an inspection being that you are in the city.

Also keep this in mind; the previous plumbing may have been installed incorrectly and more than likely will not be up to current code depending on the age of your home. And if you ever decide to sell your home and the plumbing isn't properly installed, when a home inspector sees this it will de-value your home. Just some things to keep in mind if you try to "copy" existing piping.