Author Topic: Yem material question  (Read 1975 times)

Offline freke

Yem material question
« on: April 21, 2016, 08:32:36 am »
Hi,
The material is my concern, it is European jew and was taken down end 2014 from a local forest, left on the ground to early autumn 2015, and shows grayish miss colors in the sap wood randomly all over the billets toticed after I cut it into two billets. I took pictures on the billet before I seal the ends and it is actually visible already then but didn't pay attention.

Please check the pictures,  is the odd color normal, or if it is as I fear fungus and in that case how sever is it? The wood feels fresh except for the color differences.

It will be my first jew bow and I have no experience with this wood at all so It will be the piece I learn all from:), anyway I have some more stave's so it is not end of world if it fails but jew is *** hard to get here so I hope to get positive answers or constructive walk around.

Many thanks,
Jonas

Offline WillS

Re: Yem material question
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2016, 09:28:00 am »
I don't want to be negative, but be really careful.  All the experience I've had with European Yew that was left on the ground is bad. 

I had 14 stunning European Yew staves cut from a single tree that had been left unsealed on the ground for only a few months and even though you can't see any rot or odd colours, all the wood is useless.  No strength or elasticity in the sapwood, and the heartwood is dry and brittle and snaps between your fingers.

The only way to test is to cut a long strip of sapwood and bend it in half when it's been seasoned.  If it bends in half and doesn't break thats the best outcome.  If it breaks but has long fibres that's good but you can't make bows over 50-60lb with it, and if it snaps into short, sharp fibres it's useless and will break at full draw.