Author Topic: Which way to put arrow on the string.  (Read 2428 times)

Offline MXer

Which way to put arrow on the string.
« on: November 14, 2015, 04:34:45 pm »
What I mean is... Where are the vanes or feathers in relation to the string.  ....and do they differ on a arrow shelf bow versus one that does not have one.  I sort of experimented with both ways.  One way gives to much arrow "wag" side to side when leaving the bow.  The other gives more of an up and down, but seems to come off better and straighter, therefore more accurate for me.  I'm very new at shooting long bows. 

Offline PatM

Re: Which way to put arrow on the string.
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2015, 04:50:53 pm »
In a properly spined arrow it doesn't actually matter. Normally people go with two feathers against the bow, one to the outside.

Offline jayman448

« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2015, 05:18:22 pm »
Ive seen the cock feather straight out, straight in, or straight up. Ive one buddy claims a specific bow of his shoots better with cock feather in

Offline willie

« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2015, 05:37:19 pm »
it might be the arrows more than the bow with your buddy bow, but what ever works best might be better than whats supposed to be.

have you tried heating the nock glue and rotating the nock to different positions? I have never heard of tuning that way, but it could be a variable of last resort to try when conventional tuning fails. If you have a not so normal arrow or arrow rest, try anything

Offline Archer Bunta

« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2015, 02:12:09 pm »
I shoot mine with 2 in and 1 out. The reason for me is that if I reverse it (1 in 2 out) the inside fletching will actually whip against bow as it leaves thus destroying the fletching. By switching it around I don't get this effect.

Ruddy Darter

« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2015, 02:40:48 pm »