Author Topic: Mulberry Sapwood  (Read 1311 times)

Offline bowandarrow473

Mulberry Sapwood
« on: August 16, 2015, 06:38:05 pm »
I was just up in SC hunting and am going up again next weekend. While I was there I saw a few pipe straight mulberry trees and wasn't able to cut them due to the car already being loaded down with dogwood staves and arrow shafts. I have never worked mulberry before, my experience has mainly been with elm, hickory, and dogwood. I was wondering, as mulberry is a cousin of osage, should I chase a ring down to heartwood or is the sapwood plenty strong.

Thanks for any replies,
Hugh.
Whatever you are, be a good one.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Mulberry Sapwood
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2015, 06:51:47 pm »
The heartwood is the best but I have built bows from all heartwood, 50/50 heart/sapwood, heartwood with a few rings of sapwood and all sapwood, all with good results. The more sapwood the thicker the bow will be. I usually make mulberry bows about 10% bigger than a similar osage.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline bowandarrow473

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2015, 09:09:13 pm »
Thanks Pat. So I'll just let the sapwood be unless it is extremely thick. I have two more questions though. How is mulberry in regards to checking, twisting, decaying? Does it split like elm or can I just hammer a wedge here and there and end up with a perfectly split log?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2015, 10:14:28 pm »
Its very similar to osage but softer. Treat it like you would osage. It will check if not handled properly. Mulberry is somewhat rot resistant.  It makes a great bow. I've made flat bows and recurves and Steve Parker(Hillbilly) made a beautiful ELB with a thin layer of sapwood on the back and a heartwood belly.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Ryan C